General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

06 Accord idles funny after oil change. Please help! I suck at cars!

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2019, 07:57 PM
Default 06 Accord idles funny after oil change. Please help! I suck at cars!

2006 Honda Accord w/leather 4 cylinder
240,xxx miles

so I just got an oil change after stupidly letting my car tell me the oil was to 15 percent. My check engine light has been on since I bought the car about 20,000 miles ago. This is the first problem I am facing since my purchase about a year later! I am the second owner and the first owner meticulously took care of her vehicle and maintained it to the manuals specifications.

im a total noob when it comes to cars and any help would be deeply appreciated! I love this car and most of all not having a car payment! I’ll attach a YouTube link of a video I shot of it tonight. It was the best idea I had to help you experts give me feedback or advice.

from my perspective and in the video I start the car, it cranks fine, i have tried wiggling the key to see if it is a bad ignition switch and the car doesn’t cut off with that motion. BUT the car idles good at first and then slowly lowers and raises back up with the rpm gauge, sometimes it will dip so low it will cut off or come close to it. The lights dim and everything. When I BARELY tap the gas it raises the RPM’s like I’m giving the gas pedal a heavy tap. Instead I am actually just trying to slowly raise the RPMs but the car reacts sharply like I’m really giving the gas pedal some heavy foot action. I’m the video of you watch the rpms jump you will see what I mean.

video is about 1.5 minutes and I could use any help or opinions possible. I plan on taking the vehicle to an auto store tomorrow to get the car read and see what codes pop up. I will report back here with that info.

i really want to say thanks in advance in helping a total TOTAL noob out.

Link below