General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

1994 Accord EX help

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2021, 01:31 PM
Default 1994 Accord EX help

I just finished treatment for a leaking head gasket using blue devil sealant. And after replacement of thermostat etc the hose came loose causing it to overheat. I tightened up the hose. Started her right up, now it's idling up and down. And the front part of the engine is rocking as it does this. Bear with me, I'm new at this mechanic stuff! Thanks for any ideas or help diagnosing the problem
Also want to add that I got the codes from the jump terminal on passenger side and it is the ABS Light flashing a long flash, pause then 8 short flashes

Last edited by Melissa Ann Schaut Hallam; 01-25-2021 at 01:52 PM.
Old 01-25-2021, 02:16 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

Originally Posted by Melissa Ann Schaut Hallam
I just finished treatment for a leaking head gasket using blue devil sealant. And after replacement of thermostat etc the hose came loose causing it to overheat. I tightened up the hose. Started her right up, now it's idling up and down. And the front part of the engine is rocking as it does this. Bear with me, I'm new at this mechanic stuff! Thanks for any ideas or help diagnosing the problem
Also want to add that I got the codes from the jump terminal on passenger side and it is the ABS Light flashing a long flash, pause then 8 short flashes
The fluctuating idle speed is from having an air pocket leading to the IAD valve. Bleed the remaining air out of the system (there's a bleeder screw near the T-stat) and it should stop doing that.
I don't know what a code 18 works out for the ABS. It could be a sensor by one of the wheels.

Old 01-25-2021, 02:28 PM
Default TY

I'm going to do this now! ty for your quick response!;