General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Car not starting after throttle body cleaning

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2012, 03:31 PM
Default Car not starting after throttle body cleaning

Background: I'm brand new to cars and I try not to touch anything that I don't know about. I drive a '98 Honda Accord EX, I've had it for less than a year. I bought it used on Craigslist and I don't know what kind of maintenance needs to be done on it.

tl;dr version: Car was idling very low so I cleaned the throttle body. Now it doesn't start.

This is what happens when I turn the key
http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v2...t=100_0018.mp4

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

Since I've had my car I've had a problem with the gas pedal sticking/the car idling very rough. (I noticed more recently that it gets worse when I have my AC on.)
After lots of Google-ing I read that it would probably help to clean the throttle body. After months of putting it off I finally decided earlier this week that I'd finally do it.

It seemed easy enough, spray with throttle body cleaner and wipe, right?
Well, not so much.
After I was all done and re-connected the air duct hose and everything, I started the car in what, I guess, is called "clear flood mode" (pushed the gas pedal down and turned the key).

Everything seemed alright. I had read that the car would have trouble starting up at first. It made some loud noises, I guess the kind of noises the car usually makes when you're pressing on the gas and it's still in Park, but after a little while it stopped (btw, I wasn't sure how long I was supposed to be pressing the gas, maybe I'd pressed it too long? Not long enough?)

So then I took my foot off the pedal and tried to start the car.
Click.
Nothing.
I've tried several times and still nothing.

I did another search to see what I could find, it is a possibility that I used too much throttle body cleaner and flooded my engine.