General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Car shaking while driving!

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2014, 03:43 PM
Default Car shaking while driving!

I am new to this page..

I have a 1997 Honda Accord 2.2lt V-tec 4cylinder..

Recently my car shakes, including steering wheel, while driving down the road.. about 50-60mph. It feels like it is only on one side of my car, the left, front passenger side.. I changed the rotor and it helped a little bit.. Mine is where the rotor is behind the hub.. I was in need of some news tires but didn't have the money at the time to replace all four so i only got one used tire and it was put on the back due to a bent rim.. it continued to shake.. Well i finally got brand new tires last week. Got them put on and it drove okay, no loud sound like before.. but it's still shaking.. worse than before at that speed ( 50-60mph ) it's really frustrating trying to figure out what could be the problem, also once finding out what it may be money is an issue as well.. when i got those new tires put on the guy was supposed to balance them along with the mounting.. I've been reading posts all over where it could be tires unbalanced, tire rods, cv joints, wheel bearings, axle, alinement, rotors, etc ... Just looking for someone to point me in the right direction of what to do and how to check everything properly before i buy anything and put it in the shop.. i like to learn about my car!

Old 07-09-2014, 03:54 PM
Super Moderator

You only need to create one help thread on the issue. I deleted the other 2 identical threads.

Welcome to the forum.

Old 07-09-2014, 03:59 PM

Oh okay! i wasn't sure, Thanks!

Old 07-10-2014, 11:26 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member

Welcome.
well, here's a long version for a new learner/member.

1. shakes about 30 mph = bent wheel
2. shakes about 60 = tire out of balance,
3. if steering wheel shakes on braking = warped rotors in front