General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Clutch gained pressure but not enough.

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2020, 10:58 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Clutch gained pressure but not enough.

I have a 1992 Accord LX and a week ago i replaced the clutch, pressure plate, throwout bearing, and both cylinders for the clutch hydraulics. I’ve been bleeding the clutch for about a week now and i still only have a little bit of pressure in the pedal and not enough for it to spring all the way backup. I’m not sure if it’s because i didn’t bench bleed either of them or if there’s just a lot of air in the system but it’s getting really annoying now. I’ve bled it with a vacuum pump, manually with a friend, and used an air compressor vacuum pump, but the air bubbles still won’t stop. I’m 100% sure it’s not leaking anywhere i always check for leaks every time i’m bleeding. Anybody have any suggestions? this is my first time doing a clutch job so i’m a bit lost at this point.

Old 04-06-2020, 01:21 PM
Super Moderator

I've had best luck using a pressure bleeder, pushing fluid into the slave cylinder & flowing "uphill" to the master cylinder. That way you aren't fighting against the buoyancy of air bubbles trying to rise in the lines.

You say you used a "vacuum pump". I've used a MityVac that had a reservoir for sucking fluid out, but I didn't have much luck because it always sucked air into the threads of the bleeder-valve. It worked much better when I cleaned out the reservoir, put fresh fluid in, and set the MityVac to push pressure rather than to pull vacuum.

Or if you still want to use the pedal-pumping method, there's 3 things you have to do with a Honda (and many other makes).
1. Tie a string around the pedal to pull it back up. When bleeding, there's no spring to push the pedal back up. Normally, the pressure-plate does that job through the hydraulic system to push the pedal back up.