General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Cracked Cam Cap H22A HELP

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2020, 06:23 AM
Exclamation Cracked Cam Cap H22A HELP

Hi everyone, to make this story short, im from New Zealand and I own an Accord Euro R CL1. I was changing the distributor o ring as it was leaking. I just got this car and im not mechanically inclined at all so I am bound to **** up one way or another.

Upon changing the distributor o ring and tightening the distributor back on, I didn't realise that the distributor is meant to sit flush in the cam cap. So I just tightened the distributor nuts and the distributor holder cracked! this happened a few weeks ago and I used jb weld and clamped the piece together and let it sit for 24 hours. Lined up the distributor on correctly and the cars been running fine no issues.

But have I damaged something in the long run? im currently a student so changing the entire head would be far too costly for me. Any suggestions on my situation?

Thanks for all your help!

Old 05-18-2020, 12:32 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

Originally Posted by gs98
Hi everyone, to make this story short, im from New Zealand and I own an Accord Euro R CL1. I was changing the distributor o ring as it was leaking. I just got this car and im not mechanically inclined at all so I am bound to **** up one way or another.

Upon changing the distributor o ring and tightening the distributor back on, I didn't realise that the distributor is meant to sit flush in the cam cap. So I just tightened the distributor nuts and the distributor holder cracked! this happened a few weeks ago and I used jb weld and clamped the piece together and let it sit for 24 hours. Lined up the distributor on correctly and the cars been running fine no issues.

But have I damaged something in the long run? im currently a student so changing the entire head would be far too costly for me. Any suggestions on my situation?