General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Engine Revs and power questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2012, 07:57 PM
Default Engine Revs and power questions

Hello Honda Forums,

Newbie here from Vermont. Just aquired a very nice silver 2008 Accord Coupe LX-S with the 2.4 four banger and 5-speed tranny.

I love the car, it's my second Accord, my first was a Green 89 LXI Coupe.

Interesting thing is, this car and my 89 were both sold from the same dealer in Poway CA. I bought my first one brand new there, and the latest I purchased here in Vermont, it's a 1 owner car and left California eight months ago.

So a couple of questions for you Accord experts:

1. One thing I don't like is how the engine stays at high RPMs between shifts making smooth shifting more difficult (especially for my 15 year old son in training). Is there a fix for this?

2. The drivers seat is sort of loose, it wiggles during driving.

3. I would like to add some power, suggestions would be great.

Thanks and pic in the intro section if ur interested.

Old 07-30-2012, 06:37 PM

Cmon fellow Honda guys, any help with the above questions would be very helpful. Thanks

Old 08-02-2012, 06:31 AM

Wow, no answers. Real active forum we have here.

Old 08-02-2012, 07:02 AM

Easy killer some of us members do have "jobs" we do have a life an some of us are just waking up!
Good morning new member glad to have you aboard!
To answer your question well cant do it!not with just 1 answer anyway.
It could be many reasons your idle is high?
throttle plate stuck?
fast idle thermo valve faulty?
idle air control valve needs adjusting?
Or it could even be the starting air valve gone bad?
It could be any of these or something else but these are just a few items to keep you busy for the rest of the day!
good luck and let us know how it goes.

Old 08-02-2012, 07:20 AM

Oh and i forgot to mention about the loose seat?