General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Need help

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2015, 06:23 PM
Default Need help

im new to honda forums and i need some help. i have a 99 accord 3.0 and its having a misfiring problem. once the engine is fully warmed up and i shut it off for a couple minutes, it will idle roughly and the about 10-15 seconds later it will idle where its suppose to. It stalled on me 3 times during the last 3 months. when the engine sits for about 10-20 mins when fully warmed up it will idle more rougher and can possibly stall. Also, when its in the single digits outside it will misfire on cold start for a few mins until it gets warmed up. its a hit or miss when it happens. i just replaced the cap and rotor and it didnt help whats so ever. spark plugs are fine and same thing with the plug wires. any advice?

Old 02-18-2015, 08:48 PM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

Do you have the Check Engine Light on? If yes, go to Autozone or other auto parts and have codes (Pnnnn) read. Post actual codes, not what clerk tells you they mean.

Are you losing any coolant? Coolant in the cylinders from faulty head gasket will cause brief engine miss on a warm startup and could cause stalling.

good luck

Old 02-20-2015, 06:30 PM
Super Moderator

Many of the early 6th gen v6 had/have an issue with heat soak.......car is warm/normal op temp....shut the car off for 15 to 30 minutes....re-start and you get a "stumble/rough" idle, sometimes a CEL, sometimes you can hold the gas down and clear it out.

Seems to show up more in the cold when winter blend gas is being sold.

Now if this is also happening from a stone cold start you could have another issue or two different issues.

Old 02-21-2015, 12:46 PM