Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic.

Any real difference between a fully-loaded Honda and an Acura?

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2012, 07:40 PM
Default Any real difference between a fully-loaded Honda and an Acura?

I'm not a mechanic nor am I an employee of Honda, Acura, Lexus, or Toyota, but maybe someone on this forum is. Is there really any physical difference between a fully loaded Honda automobile and a regular Acura automobile. Aren't you getting the same chassis, body-frame, suspension, brakes, engine, body panels, exhaust, same leather seats, same stereo, same glass windows, etc? You can get a 280hp engine in either car, right? When you really break it down piece by piece for the 2 different brands, metal is metal, plastic is plastic, glass is glass. Isn't it just branding/marketing and a few extra special luxury options that separate the 2 different brands? I'm not trying to start a long-winded debate here, I just want to know the truth and since the Acura salesman people aren't' going to tell me the real deal, I thought this website would. This question I have can apply to Lexus and Toyota, and Infinity and Nissan.

Old 06-27-2012, 01:21 AM
Administrator

Yes, but way to many to even try and answer to. Many of the parts are like and the same ...but the 2 cars are really different..

Welcome to the forums.

Old 06-27-2012, 10:31 AM
Super Moderator

Some Acuras are the same, some are different. When they're different, it's usually because Honda has another car that they sell somewhere else in the world, but it's too close in size so they don't badge it as a Honda.

Honda created the Acura nameplate so they could sell some cars that were aimed at the more expensive end of the spectrum. They also generally tend to equip the Acuras with more luxury-type stuff even when it's almost the same car.