Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic.

? for computer gurus

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2007, 10:08 AM
Default ? for computer gurus

Ever since I bought my home computer (Cheap Dell, only CD drive, basic functionality) there are a ton of programs that automatically launch on startup making it run as slow as Christmas. For example: McAffee is always asking me to update, Norton Ghost always pops up, and there are about 8 little icons at the bottom right of my screen on the toolbar. Most are things I do not use, and many pop up periodically bugging me asking me to "update" something. How do I get rid of all of this garbage? Do I just uninstall the programs? I'm not too experienced with Windows XP. I just got it at work (I was the last in the building to install it on my machine). So now I have it at work and at home. I liked Windows 2000 better[:'(](probably simply because I was used to it)

Old 10-23-2007, 11:17 AM
Default RE: ? for computer gurus

blech windows 2K almost as bad as windows ME. onto your question you can uninstal using the control panel, then "add or remove programs" you should see the programs you dont want listed in there. if not found in there then there should be an uninstal file located somewhere in the respective folder. If you decide that you want to keep the proggies then just right click on the icons in the task bar and go to options. im not familar with the progs your using, but when you right click there should be an option for options/prefrences. in there you should be able to disable them from start up. finally there is a way to disable them from starting up when you boot your OS. for some reason i am at a loss for how to do it, strange thing is i did it the other day. when i get to my home comp ill figure out how to do it, and post here. if someone hasnt already done it by then.

Arent computers FUN!!

Old 10-23-2007, 11:26 AM

3 Step Process:
1) Remove Crappy Programs